In addition to his songwriting, Rupert Wates is also a writer of prose fiction and a published author, and for some years before coming to the US lived in Paris.  The works listed below were written during his time in that beautiful city.    

in the season of the night

a novella by rupert wates

Published in January 2017, In the Season of the Night is loosely based on real events that rocked France in the early 1980s and is a dark and powerful tale of bisexual passion, jealousy, murder and revenge. Available now on for $12.

REVIEWS: "Wates writes with a boldness and brutality that is sometimes difficult but always interesting and always worth the time.  It's a short novella and I read it in one sitting because I couldn't put it down" (Dani, Amazon customer) 

city of lights

five short stories of paris by rupert wates

Published in June 2014, City Of Lights is a collection of five of his short stories set in Paris.

City of Lights: Five Short Stories of Paris evokes the taste of Paris.
  • In Outsiders, on a trip to a monument on the outskirts of Paris, a dark chapter of the city’s past is brought to life.
  • In The Naming Game, a jaded writer buys sex to recover the source of his inspiration.
  • Monsieur Angeli is a story of two apartments, a divorce and a funeral.
  • Wankers is about a visit to the Museum Of Erotic Art which brings home the voyeuristic nature of all writing.
  • One Night Only concerns the adventures of a lonely night porter.
List price $10. Available now on for $9.50.

"I loved this book of short stories...short, but definitely worth a read. Or two." (CM Foust, FL 5 Stars)
"A thoroughly enjoyable read, cover to cover." (C. Howard, NY 5 Stars)
"A classy book from a classy guy.  Very well written." (C. Xavier, PA 3 Stars)
"A wonderful read...Spare yet very satisfying." (Linda, NJ, 5 Stars)